⬟ HOME ⛱ PROMENADE ♾ ABOUT ✎ GUESTBOOK

✶ WEBADMIN'S JOURNAL, NOV 2021

This particular journal appears to be from NOVEMBER 2021 -- the site's birthday.


Happy Birthday, Infinite Shoals!

>> JOURNAL TERMINAL: ACTIVATED

11.27/28.2021

EDIT: Yes, I fully admit I am having TOO much fun now. This has been a joyous experiment. Hoping next time will be even better.

I still have no idea what I am doing, but I GUESS rigging is happening! Everything keeps breaking, and I need a forever nap. Who am I kidding. I'm actually incredibly thrilled to have even gotten this far, and I am looking forward to trying to make another model and hopefully screwing up less along the way. I am pretty sure this one is barely held together with duct tape and dreams LOL, but I think she turned out really cute and charming.

Bonus gremlin render. We are GETTING SOMEWHERE (by which I mean, getting close to my mental breaking point of sanity, I still cannot handle the sheer number of shortcuts Blender requires you to remember.

11.23.2021

AAAARGH. Got hyped after reading the Yesterweb's HALL-O-ZINE, particularly the section on Virtual Haunted Houses. I have always been bad at preparing for and celebrating holidays, but I began daydreaming about creating a tiny holiday "house" for the site. Well, it would be a separate site that could be turned on and off during the holidays, and perhaps have some sort of "pending/next holiday countdown" screen during the non-holiday times...hypothetically. As you can see, I have not thought this out very far (literally thought of it on a short drive to get lunch, so. It is incredibly half-baked). I don't even know what I'd do...maybe a countdown to Chrimbus.

If I were to throw something together in time for the winter holidays, I would have to teach and encourage myself that low-fidelity isn't a bad thing, necessarily. I often fail to start projects because I make them out to be more complicated than they need to be. But there is a time and a place for everything, and there is always next year to make proper preparations, if I ever want to scale up the concept. There is no shame in making something just a little silly.

11.18.2021

Now we're cooking with oil! Blender is...well, I have to admit, a little frustrating to work with lol, but the last 3D program I worked with many years ago was 3DS Max (a program I will never get to work with again considering its price) so I have admittedly been spoiled. Still, it is satisfying seeing something come together, even if it is PS1-era levels of jank.

And something else small I was working on for fun, some tiny pixels. You might have seen two of em lurking on the home page. We may or may not see these again later, I haven't quite figured out if I want to do anything with them yet.

11.16.2021

Some recent scraps I've been working on. I got tipsy and decided I wanted to give Blender another shot. Luckily, Tracey always makes for a great test subject.

Ultimately I'd like for this model to sort of feel like a DDR 1st-4th mix character. I'd also like to try rigging it at some point, but we'll cross that bridge when we get there.

11.13.2021

Today I went to a museum which featured mechanical art produced by craftspeople all over the world.

The museum docents were all very enthusiastic about what was presented here. It was wonderful to behold an entire universe, this discipline which I think has somewhat become "dated" in favor of new technological pursuits. I want to say this in a neutral manner: it is the nature of things to grow and change; evolve and give way to the next advancement.

In that sense, I was comforted in seeing these items so lovingly displayed, and to find such amazing wonder in these creations, knowing that though time may pass, new generations of enthusiasts will continue to keep these principles alive.

11.09.2021

I have had a pretty difficult relationship with art for several years now, mostly with regards the "making a profit" shtick. I am happy that this year I was able to further divorce myself from that expectation with a job change, and ever since I think I have been slowly trying to remember what it is to...really goof around.

I have no idea if I'll finish this, as I have been drawing a lot of things and then putting them down, but I think it is...possibly just stupid enough where I might. I think Tracey would make a great used car salesman. My hope is to eventually make this a landing page image for the site.

11.07.2021

Recently rewatched The Big Lebowski, which, true to reported belief, gets funnier every time you watch it. And of course, immediately took the liberty to insert my original characters in there for maximum serotonin. TRACEY, YOU'RE OUT OF YOUR ELEMENT.

In addition, I always derive great morbid joy from visualizing Miriam and Cigar as...two "consummate professionals" looking disheveled and confused. Tracey is already a socially withdrawn gremlin in canon, so her representing Donny is an immense upgrade.

>> JOURNAL TERMINAL: TERMINATED

<< RETURN TO MAIN ENTRANCE